top of page
ad cnp.png

Moscow To Use Blockchain Voting, Determining Putin’s Presidential Fate

Russia’s upcoming e-voting on Vladimir Putin’s Constitutional amendments will be implemented using blockchain technology, determining Putin’s presidential fate.

Moscow citizens will now be able to cast their votes via blockchain-powered e-voting.

Announced on Moscow government’s official website, voters can now sign up for the upcoming e-voting starting from June 5.

Открыта запись на электронное голосование по изменениям в Конституцию Подать заявку можно до 14:00 21 июня. Полностью с материалом можно ознакомиться по ссылке: — Эхо Москвы (@EchoMskRu) June 5, 2020

Scheduled to take place from June 25 to June 30, the e-voting will be implemented through blockchain technology to “ensure security and transparency.”

Blockchain will help to anonymize and encrypt each vote to provide safety and immutability of data.

As a blockchain network “does not have a single server,” the chain is “almost impossible to hack,” the official announcement says.

The statement reads:

“The safety and transparency of electronic voting will be ensured by blockchain technology. Such a network does not have a single server: in order to change the information regarding bulletins, it is necessary to obtain the approval of most network participants, so the chain is almost impossible to hack. The vote itself is anonymized and encrypted.”

However, Moscow government did not specify what kind of blockchain technology exactly is going to be deployed during the vote.

The authority also did not mention any company assisting in implementing the technology for the voting process.

Russian citizens will get to choose whether they support the Constitutional amendments during the vote.

Introduced on Jan. 15, 2020, the Constitutional amendments proposal aims to allow Putin to serve two more six-year terms i.e. until 2036.

If Russian people vote against the amendments, Putin will finally have to leave his Presidential post in 2024.

Putin has been serving in office either as President or prime minister since 1999.

Source: Cointelegraph | Image: Pixabay



bottom of page